PDA

View Full Version : Do taxes yourself?

stevenf
01-02-2012, 12:50 AM
I have been toying with the idea of doing my own taxes. I have never done it before. I normally pay a CPA 300.00 at the end of the year but I do all my receipt counting, monthly logs, tax calculation .... all he does is file them. Doesn't seem worth the money to me. Even the cheaper walk in tax places want 300.00. Anyone here do there own taxes for business? Do you use Turbo tax business?
Posted via Mobile Device

jackal
01-02-2012, 08:07 AM
I do my own with turbo tax. Good record keeeping helps.

Roger
01-02-2012, 09:48 AM
No way. The $300 (much more for me) is money well spent. There is no way that I can know the applicable tax code for doing the prep myself.

Remember, the CPA charge is a "professional fee" that is a tax deductible expense itself.

Dr.NewEarth
01-02-2012, 01:34 PM
$ 2500 to 3200 a year is what I have to pay in British Columbia for corporate tax. About 400 of that is for book keeping.

I asked around at the landscape association and other companies my size are also paying this amount in income tax every year.

I don't have the patience or frankly the ability to do every-thing required to run a company. So, I farm out my tax preparation. I have to. It is quite complicated here and the laws and requirements change. Even though it is expensive, I would rather be making money doing what I am good at. Then I know there won't be any mistakes.

DA Quality Lawn & YS
01-03-2012, 12:08 AM
I use Turbo Tax Home and Biz, and find it pretty clear cut to do my own taxes.
That said, I am a solo with a pretty straight forward situation. More complex operations may need prof. assistance.

Fvstringpicker
01-03-2012, 12:10 AM
I've been doing my own taxes for years. I'd never hire a CPA to do mine. :)

wbw
01-03-2012, 11:56 AM
I've been doing my own taxes for years. I'd never hire a CPA to do mine. :)

Just be glad everyone doesn't feel that way.:waving:

AlohaMowing
01-03-2012, 10:38 PM