PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Pricing sod job

rockwellpropsol
01-24-2012, 02:26 PM
Hey guys thanks for looking. I need a little help pricing a job i just got. Im new to sod and just wanted aroundabout price. The customer wants the yard tilled, then topsoil put down, and then laying the sod. Can someone show me a breakdown on pricing. It is about 4500 sf. Thanks guys:confused:

tnwildcat
01-24-2012, 10:46 PM
Sounds like major overkill. If you are putting down sod just loosen up soil and lay it. I get best results killing old grass and scalping to ground level. Rent a power rake/dethatcher and tear it to pieces. Rake all access grass off of lawn. Sod will lay better on a surface that isn't overly soft or loose. Price depends greatly on how far you have to move sod. Can pallets be staged all around lawn? Three guys less than a day if you have to move it by hand. Half a day if pallets are staged. Sod goes much quicker also if its mini rolls.

Barrett Landscaping
01-24-2012, 10:52 PM
i would just kill, then cut out all the dead grass and then put down topsoil and then lay the sod.tilling really isnt needed

memphis.landscape
01-24-2012, 10:59 PM
Tilling the ground will typically cause the sod to have more weeds in it. I use a sod cutter (set on .5 in) and then just rake up the debris. you can go over it another time to loosen up the soil to rake it evenly. I typically charge $200-250 per pallet. But if your measurments are correct you are looking at upwards of 11 pallets. so I would be close to $170 a pallet +cost. You and one guy should easily be able to do that in a day.

Barrett Landscaping
01-24-2012, 11:30 PM
the terrain really plays a role in pricing sod. i try and get around $1/sqft including prep work.

Son's Lawn Maintenance LLC
01-25-2012, 02:52 AM
We do a lot of sod installation is South Louisiana. We charge $6.50 per sq/yd thats with us doing the final grade on the site. Hope that helps. We usually get sod for $110 to 120 a pallet.

rockwellpropsol