PDA

View Full Version : First Time Having To Sue a Client...What Should I Expect

M & MD Lawn
01-24-2012, 05:16 PM
Hey guys, Like the title says I am having to get ready to sue a client of mine for non-payment of services. I have copies of the Invoices I sent, the text messages, going to call my cell provider and get copies of my outgoing calls and incoming. I think I have all my bases covered???

He owes for a Aeration, seed, and Fert and has so since Oct. I'm quite frankly tired of waiting and he has not returned ONE phone call since, I have called his cell and office..I KNOW HE HAS to be getting my messages! Talked to my lawyer today and he said file suit against him and also told me in this business as this is my first time having to sue, it wont be my last.

I know some of you have had this happen....How'd it go??

Thanks in Advance,
Paul

Gilmore.Landscaping
01-24-2012, 05:40 PM
Curious to hear answers....also won't your lawyer fees just outweigh the amount he owes you?

Patriot Services
01-24-2012, 05:56 PM
Curious to hear answers....also won't your lawyer fees just outweigh the amount he owes you?

Exactly. How much does he owe ? i'm sure in most states it qualifies as small claims court. which does not require a lawyer and is usually a minimal filing fee.:usflag:

Bunton Guy
01-24-2012, 07:45 PM
Your wasting your time for a small amount. 30,000....now I would go after them for that.

Find one of those collections agencies that will take it over....and hit him where it counts HIS CREDIT. Which if he wants to he can sue you for doing that.

IES
01-24-2012, 08:15 PM
You can sue anyone for anything. Even if you win the judgement collecting is another ball of wax. I have had to file liens and sue people and without going into great detail good luck:)
Posted via Mobile Device

GreenI.A.
01-24-2012, 08:42 PM