PDA

View Full Version : Seeding Over a Cornfield

GravelyGuy
02-22-2012, 07:56 PM
I am thinking about buying a 10 acre lot that is currently a cornfield. I will be building a house and pole barn on the property. My business is mainly fertilizer/weed control and maintenance, so I do not have a tractor or anything to tackle this large of a job. I don't think my 18" slice seeder is adequate:laugh: I could rent equipment, but I am not very experienced using large equipment.

Is it best to try and find a farmer to disc the field? Anyone ever tried to start a lawn over corn? How expensive is this going to get?

Help me out please;)

RigglePLC
02-22-2012, 09:22 PM
Farmers are busy in spring, but maybe a farmer's 15 year old kid would be willing to smooth it our for you.

I hope there is nothing chemical wise in the soil that would kill the grass seed. Smooth it our and broadcast the seed on loose soil--should work. Perhaps drag it a bit to work the seed into the soil. I would say aim for late April.

agrostis
02-22-2012, 09:39 PM
I would think that if it is a no-till field then you shoudn't need to disc. Corn is a annual but you might get some wild corn on the edge's. Find a local farmer to help you plant. I don't know what would be the right thing to plant for your area. Your cost depend's on what you want. The more manicured, the more expensive. 10 acre's... If you don't have any experience with large equipment then how do you plan on mowing that ?

atasteofnature
02-22-2012, 09:55 PM
I would get a soil test done on the area. The corn has probably depleted a lot of nutrients out of the soil the grass needs to grow. Ran into this same problem with my father-in-law's funeral home land. Good Luck!

GravelyGuy
02-22-2012, 10:08 PM
Thank you guys. It is actually a small development with 5 other houses. They are smaller lots, but they all seem to have been able to get grass to grow. Maintaining it will be no trouble I have 60" ZTRs and a Zspray.