PDA

View Full Version : Informing my customers about sales tax

s-lc
03-07-2012, 10:27 PM
Hi all,

I am a rookie who is about to start my 2nd season of lawn care and landscaping. When I gave my customers estimates/prices at the start of last season, I did not factor in New York State sales tax (.08125%) If my labor and costs were $35 for the job, that is what I charged and did not add NY sales tax to that price. My accountant made me realize recently when I filed my taxes that my profits were hit hard after sales tax was figured and collected by the state. As I contact my customers at the start of this season, I was thinking about writing a letter saying the following. Please share your thoughts....

Dear Mr.XXXXX,

I hope you had an enjoyable holiday and winter season...While there will be no increase in price for your weekly lawn service, I will now be required to charge the New York State sales tax of .08125% The price of your weekly service will now be $37.85...

***the previous price was 35***

What do you guys think? Thanks!

BigJon
03-07-2012, 11:07 PM
Sounds fine to me, honest and to the point. No BSing the customer and explains the reason.

yardguy28
03-07-2012, 11:08 PM
personally I think it's crap......

I don't of any that charge sales tax except stores like the grocery and walmart. but I guess if your hell bent on doing it I'd suggest just raising your price and forget telling the client your charging sales tax. kind of like how you don't reveal your hourly rate to clients.

Salcido Lawn
03-07-2012, 11:12 PM
That sounds good to me. If they have any questions or concerns, direct them to the NY comptroller's website, where it addresses the subject of taxing landscaping. I have had a few people question me about charging taxes, and I have only had to show one client the Texas comptrollers website, because he didn't believe me.

Salcido Lawn
03-07-2012, 11:19 PM