PDA

View Full Version : having a hard time getting customers

LDC30
03-08-2012, 10:53 PM
Hello all,

New member here and excited to get my own landscape business underway. I have been landscaping for many years i am just tired of working for other people and want my own bus. I am having a hard time getting customers. I have put out business cards, magnets on my truck, facebook, posters etc...still only a couple of calls! any advice on what i can do...i also dont want to spend a ton of money if its not going to work

944own
03-08-2012, 11:01 PM
door to door, its free and works. You will get some doors slammed in your face but you will also get a few yards. Do good on those yards, they tell a few people and you will start growing from there. That is how I started and have grown to a decent schedule. good luck

4 seasons lawn&land
03-08-2012, 11:03 PM
you just started this spring? Id be happy with 2 calls so far

hoyboy
03-09-2012, 08:56 AM
I know someone that started out and offered no obligation, 1 month of free lawn mowing. Now that's an agressive move, but I have to hand it to him...he did get customers. Theory was that it got him in the door, gave him a chance to show off what he could do, and most customers stayed with him.

Might not be for everybody, but it worked for him.

Good luck!

Set Apart Lawn Care
03-09-2012, 09:37 AM
I've said this a lot on here, but door hangers have been our best advertising by far. We spent a little extra and had someone design ours to stand out above the rest. Our results are for about every 100 door hangers we get 3-4 calls, a couple are for one time jobs (usually mulch and hedge trim), a couple dont work out, and we get 1 customer who stays as a regular client. We passed out about 1,200 last week and I already have 8 new clients for next year before the dormant bermuda here in Memphis has even come back. Plus as I said a few one time mulch jobs. Here are a few things we shoot for with door hangers