PDA

View Full Version : Bidding Wars

USAProLawnCare
03-19-2012, 04:42 PM
Alright guys/gals,

It is my turn to ask for assistance. I am fairly new to the business, but got two opportunities to walk 2 apartment complexes today so I can submit a bid in the next couple of days. I need some help with bidding just for the maintenance aspect of it.. I have an idea but dont want to mess it up for myself. This is what I've got:

1st one: Approx 18k sq. ft. of grass, broken up into about 5 smaller sections and 3 large sections, all needing to be edged.

Also approx. 2000 ln. ft. worth of hedging needed.

Most beds are natural (Im in the mountains) but some need mulch, which I can figure out myself.

2nd one: only about 4500 sq ft of grass, no edging.

About 500 ln. ft of hedging/bush trimming

Lots of beds... thats my technical term, lots.. but they are also bare natural landscape that will need weeding sometimes.

I know this may be a vague report, but if I can get an idea I'd appreciate it.

***KEEP THIS IN MIND*** --- I am a one man show with a walk behind, so the larger property will take a while in mowing.

Thanks ahead of time!

Mahoney3223
03-19-2012, 05:01 PM
Figure out your costs. Not trying to be a jerk but everyone's are different. I can't give you an answer. Figure you costs!!!!

USAProLawnCare
03-19-2012, 06:48 PM
Honestly my costs are pretty small. I really can't have a super good idea because I haven't done enough big jobs to guess.. But really, what is there? Gas for the mower, trimmer, hedger.. Line for the trimmer, costs me $5 a yard to dump clippings at the dump... I'm thinking time.. About 25-30% of it is hilly so I will have to take the trimmer to some of that... I'm thinking 2.5-3hrs for mowing, maybe an hour or so for edging.. but its the hedging that gets me..

USAProLawnCare
03-19-2012, 09:31 PM
Ok, please be nice. Remember, I'm fairly new to the business... This is what I have figured: