PDA

View Full Version : 3 acres of leaves

Tha5150
03-26-2012, 03:21 PM
and all i have is a 44" dixie with no bagging system. a friend gave me this lead cause he has no time and i am just starting out, still in the "i will do anything" faze. he quoted her $500 and she wasnt completely sold until i said i would blower her entire roof off and do an extra corner that she had not bothered with.

anyways, i am 99% i can get this job at $500 or $450 worst case. problem is, i will not rake all this. good thing, there is a burn site in her back yard where she wants everything dumped so there is no removal.

i have tried to find a place to rent a riding leaf vaccum or something with no luck. and i said i have no bag so what is my next best option.

A. you guys tell me some great simple way to get this done in 3 hours by myself with something i dont know about

B. rake myself and or hire someone to help ($10 type help at the local store) and hate everything about the job the 15 hours it takes to finish and try to kill myself on the job.

C. Sorry ma'am, not going to happen. good luck....

Florida Gardener
03-26-2012, 05:07 PM
If we are talking a full 3 acres of leaves from big oaks and what not, you will be working a lot longer than 3 hours even if all you are using is blowers. $500 is way too low. You need to double that for it to be worth your while. I also wouldn't take jobs based on what others quote....you need to charge what YOU need to charge.

Tha5150
03-26-2012, 05:09 PM
Its a 3 acre lot, i would say an honest 1.5 of land but scattered around.

also, i am too new to figure out my time and price for this. . he is a good friend who quoted a number and he felt comfortable with that.

Florida Gardener
03-26-2012, 05:20 PM
Its a 3 acre lot, i would say an honest 1.5 of land but scattered around.

also, i am too new to figure out my time and price for this. . he is a good friend who quoted a number and he felt comfortable with that.