PDA

View Full Version : Bed Edging ??

ryan41
04-03-2012, 03:37 PM
I did a 8 yard mulch job yesterday. hand edged all the beds. That took forever!!! i also removed all the old sod and hauled it away. I have a 14 yard mulch job tomorrow and im wondering if i should just rent a bed edger for a few hours? Do you guys throw the dirt back into the beds or haul it away?? let me know how you do this. I have not done much edging so i am pretty new at it. let me know what you guys do.

Thanks,
Ryan

kennc38
04-03-2012, 03:52 PM
I did a 8 yard mulch job yesterday. hand edged all the beds. That took forever!!! i also removed all the old sod and hauled it away. I have a 14 yard mulch job tomorrow and im wondering if i should just rent a bed edger for a few hours? Do you guys throw the dirt back into the beds or haul it away?? let me know how you do this. I have not done much edging so i am pretty new at it. let me know what you guys do.

Thanks,
Ryan

Let the machine throw the dirt into the area you're mulching and then cover the dirt with the mulch. If the dirt piles up, just take a rake and smooth it out before covering it with the mulch. Good luck.

grandview (2006)
04-03-2012, 06:29 PM
If your edging a bed that hasn't been done in a while we haul it away,mostly because of the grass chunks. If its just dirt mostly you can put it the bed.

ryan41
04-03-2012, 10:54 PM
are those machines difficult to use? i know i will get a lot of **** for asking that question. I have never used one and dont want to mess up somebody garden beds.

ron mexico75
04-03-2012, 10:59 PM
are those machines difficult to use? i know i will get a lot of **** for asking that question. I have never used one and dont want to mess up somebody garden beds.

VERY easy..it's like pulling a wagon with a kid in it. If its a Brown edger at least thats how I'd compare it. line up the cutting blade with where you want to cut and start walking backwards. very easy.