PDA

View Full Version : Bagging lawn clippings in plastic bags

Roger
12-14-2002, 03:18 PM
I'm a solo operator, working all residential properties. Some owners require bagging the clippings. Usually I need to haul away the clippings, take them to the dump (and pay for dumping). This is time consuming. However, a few will allow me to put their clippings in plastic bags, leaving them at the curb for their regular trash pickup.

I've not found an efficient way to put clippings in plastic bags. I use a 33 gal trash barrel, line it with a 0.08" liner, secure the top with a bungee cord around the top of the barrel. I put about 25 gallons of clippings in the barrel/liner, pack tight with my foot, then tie off the top with a wire twist tie, turn the barrel upside down, shake out the filled plastic bag. I put a new plastic liner in the barrel and repeat the process. I have learned that making two "setups" achieves some overall time savings.

There must be a quicker way to do this. To be sure, the extra time it takes is far quicker than putting the clippings into barrels, hauling away, then later hauling the clippings to the dump. However, I feel others may have a better way.

Some thoughts:
(1) Different bag holder; I've seen a bag holder made of 3/8" (?) rod that folds.
(2) Use a 39 gallon plastic liner; gives generous unfilled top allowing the top to be tied off in a knot, forget about the twisties.

Other ideas? Thanks,

Roger

stslawncare
12-14-2002, 04:13 PM
the only time i bag is during leaf season, are u charging extra to bag? did u emphasize to them the disadvantages of bagging? if u insist on bagging can u dump into the back of your truck?

MOOSE
12-14-2002, 04:30 PM
R U CRAZY..

The one I bag is 8,000 sq ft. and I dump my metal grass gobblers in back of truck on tarp. I then make a weekly dump run with other stuff like shrub trimmings. If not too much I use dumpster at my mini storage.

Bagging as in plastic or the paper one. NO!

UR WASTING YOUR TIME.

johnnyjay