PDA

View Full Version : how close am i

voglernut
12-14-2002, 11:19 PM
the pastor of my church told me to give him a bid on mowing the church property. before i tell him my bid, i want your opinion. it's just under 5 1/2 acres and it's all flat. no trees. i have a 60" ZTR. there is some trimming to do but mostly mowing. i figure i can do it by myself in a couple of hours. does $110 per mowing sound about right to you guys. i'm brand new at this bidding thing. remember, it's also my church. i'm sure i'll probably be asking your opinion on other properties in the future. thanks for all your comments and advice.

Lawn-N-Garden Guy
12-14-2002, 11:29 PM
If it were my church I would charge for the equip.and help and donate my share to the church then use it as a tax right off.

grassdaddy
12-14-2002, 11:32 PM
that sounds about right, if it turns out you can actually do all them acres in 2 hours.

CMerLand
12-15-2002, 12:18 AM
Garden Guy,

Personal services provided to a non profit are not tax deductible. Was asked to provide a years service contract for a friends charity and spelled out all the terms of putting a value on the cost, then learned from my accountant that this would not be tax deductible. I could obviously deduct the cost of my paid laborers to be at the site, but not the full value of what I would charge if they were paying.

Still waiting to hear from the winner to find out where his lawn is.

CMerrick

Runner
12-15-2002, 12:33 AM
This has been discussed before, and the part about the service donation not being fully tax exempt is correct. However, if you DID want to have it exempt, collect the full amount, and write it as a donation afterwards. This way, you have billed and recieved the monies, and now you are donating the actual money.