PDA

View Full Version : Need some help in picking software to use for my lawn care service

greenngrow
08-11-2000, 09:36 PM
I was wondering if some of you pros could help me out in picking a software package.
I have a spraying service for the past five years and have been just using a spreadsheet to keep my accounts updated.

The business has grown to almost 100 customers and it is getting hard to keep track. I also am looking for some way to schedule routes for me guys.

Looking at getting into mowing this next year.

I have been looking at Quickbooks Pro and Peachtree Accounting.

Looking for good answers.

Thanks

gusbuster
08-12-2000, 09:29 PM
Mark
Depends on how much money you want to spend. There are specific bookkeeping schedualing software for our trade such as "clip" or "Lawn Monkey". Myself, I've been using QuickBooks Pro for the last 9 years. Set in my ways so probally won't use any other software. Once you set up everything, goes like a breeze. Everybody here on the forum has their favorite software.

Ask this question to yourself, Do you intend to file your own taxes, or will you be taking your information to a bookkeeprtax preparer? If you go this route, check out the software they are using, quickbooks or peachtree ect..
Good Luck :D
oh by the way, you can get demos for almost all of the above mentioned software. You might also want to do a search on this subject on this site.
John

gene gls
08-12-2000, 09:43 PM
Lawn Monkey:There is one model that has spraying included. LM offers unlimited amount of customers, free up-dates, super service, easy to use. Test out a free demo...Good Luck

bob
08-12-2000, 10:44 PM
I'm using Quick Books. You could try Lawn Monkey, Gopher or Clips. Look through the trade magazines. There's lots of ads on lawn software.

trimmasters
08-13-2000, 01:59 AM
Just thought I would give my own advice as the co. has been throught every pice of software out there: