PDA

View Full Version : Bad Batch Of Mulch?

Mack450
04-24-2012, 10:08 PM
I am fairly new to the lawn care industry. I have been mowing for a few years but just this year took on a few commercial contracts. I went and mulched a couple of them with brown mulch over the weekend and then we got some rain and I went back a few days after to take some pictures of the mulching and the rain had washed the brown dye out of the mulch. Its not terrible but its definitely noticeable. Customers have not said anything to be about it yet...but I assume they will. What gives?? Is this normal for brown mulch??...or do I need to go to my supplier (who has been making and selling mulch in this area for 20+ years) for a warranty of some sort?? Just sucks that I may need to re-do HOURS and HOURS of work!

Heres a picture to help show the issue...

http://sphotos.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/548350_346717862052079_174917972565403_890367_1975944673_n.jpg

Mack450
04-24-2012, 10:11 PM
It was nice and brown like this when spread..

http://exegreen.com/landscape_images/brown_dyed_mulch.jpg

knox gsl
04-24-2012, 10:30 PM
I had that happen last summer, how long had it had to dry after being dyed? I went back and re-dyed my job a week or so after putting it down, looked good for several months after that. I have also found that shredded hardwood bark is much better than the recycled green waste like you have there.

Mack450
04-24-2012, 10:34 PM
No idea how long it had dried for. The place I purchased it from must not have allowed it to dry long enough? I will have to look into how to dye the mulch so I can spiff it up and make it look good.

knox gsl
04-24-2012, 10:36 PM
I bought some dye from JDL and it worked great just use your sprayer. You can also get it through AM leonard but its alot cheaper at JDL.

Mack450
04-24-2012, 10:40 PM
Perfect. I appreciate the fast response. Thats what I am gonna have to do.

...13 yards of mulch spread....and it all looks like its a year old!

knox gsl