PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for pricing a seasonal fert program for a client

rkbrown
12-20-2002, 10:36 PM
I am currently studying for the pesticide exam for the state of Texas, but will take the exam in March (I have the irrigation exam in January). I got a call from a potential client about a fert program. They want a bid. I went and took measurements today. They have 4500 sq ft of turf and 1500 sq ft of beds...mostly shrubs with liriope outlining the beds.

I went to Lesco to talk to them about it. The following is the program they outlined:

Turf - 4 apps:

Feb. 16-4-8 3% Iron
Apr. 24-5-11
Jun./Jul 24-5-11
Nov. 5-10-31 10% Iron winterizer

Beds - 5 apps:

Feb. 14-14-14 Granular
Apr. mixture of 28-7-4 and 20-20-20 liquid
May 14-14-14 Granular
July mixture of 28-7-4 and 20-20-20 liquid
Sept/Oct 14-14-14 Granular

I plan on charging about $50 per application for the turf. What should I charge for the beds ? The Feb and Apr turf and bed applications can be done at the same time.

I guess I am asking, 1) does this program seem reasonable and 2) What to charge for bed applications. I realize this is not a complete program. I hope to implement a complete program after I pass the applicators exam in Feb or March. Any input on this would be appreciated.

Tony Harrell
12-21-2002, 07:57 AM