PDA

View Full Version : Hustler Super Z Blade Bolts Breaking

jay_mc1
05-15-2012, 05:30 PM
I have 6 brand new 2012 Hustler Super Z's with the 72" rear discharage decks. Last week I had 3 bolts that hold the blades on break, and 1 the week before for a total of 4. Im curious if anyone else who is running a Hustler is having this problem. They are Grade 5 bolts. I have been using Hustler super z's for the past 7 years and have only broken 1 or 2 during that time, and with the new mowers I have already broken 4 this spring. They do have the Kawasaki FX1000 engines, So maybe it is contributed to the added horsepower driving the blades, or a bad batch of bolts. Just curious if anyone else has had this problem.

Mickhippy
05-15-2012, 07:52 PM
Never broken a blade bolt. What are you hitting?

Landscape Poet
05-15-2012, 08:27 PM
Never broken a blade bolt. What are you hitting?

I second this. The only thing I could think of is if you are breaking them while putting on new blades? If so don't do so with your impact wrench . :hammerhead:

agrostis
05-15-2012, 10:00 PM
I have only seen 1 broken blade bolt in 25 year's. That sound's like a bolt problem.

jay_mc1
05-16-2012, 12:01 PM
We mow commercial areas for an Elctric cooperative and Water districts. The sites are sometimes tore up pretty bad when the add or change stuff, but we stay out of the areas if they are that bad. What we hit recently were rocks that must have worked their way up from the freeze and thaw we get in south dakota. We have mowed the same areas for 6 years and knew the areas well. Im kind of thinking it might be because of the increased horsepower behind the blades, so when the blades do hit something the power causes the bolt to break. And maybe its just us hitting stuff this spring. If it continues to happen I will have to do a little more investigating.

doyles
05-16-2012, 08:43 PM
bought a new ferris 3100 last year it has a 72" deck and the 37hp kawasaki.