PDA

View Full Version : 1st paver walkway

dmolaver15
05-17-2012, 11:03 PM
hey guys, i come from the lawn care world, i'm new to pavers, and i've never built a walkway before. i have a pretty generic idea of how it's done, but I'm looking for some good advice on the best materials to use and stuff like that. I've built a couple of block walls at my work before using 8" retaining wall blocks and both have come out pretty good, so my dad asked me if i'd be interested in doing a walkway at our house.

we want to do a pattern similar to this
http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i169/danhockey15725/ResizedImage_1337309099837.jpg

the walkway itself will be about 30' long, unsure on the width at this point, there will be 1 sweeping 90 degree bend throughout the whole walkway, but i don't think i want it to be an exact width throughout.

my dad will be doing the block and material purchasing through a local concrete products dealer, and we will be going with a brand name paver (most likely a unilock or tech-bloc

I'm looking for basic advice pretty much from the base up: is any processed crushed stone/gravel good for the first base layer at about 4" deep? then that is covered with 1-2" of concrete sand, followed by the pavers? is the whole laying electrical conduit as a screed guide a good idea? does the edging get installed before the sand, after the sand but before the pavers, or is it the very last? is any plastic edging material better than others? any special methods for installing? will laying the inner most blocks first and then building the edges off of that be better than laying the edges first and then laying the pavers inside? and i know ill need a saw with a diamond blade, but what kind of saw will be the best to rent?