PDA

View Full Version : Seriously!!! What kind of grass/weed is this?

00bolt
06-05-2012, 08:49 AM
I have been fighting this stuff for 2 years now and its starting to get out of control. I have put down EVERY single over the counter stuff available at home depot/lowes I can find. Iv used that bayer crabgrass stuff, nutsedge, scotts turf builder with weed, numerous hose sprayer stuff, concentrated stuff... im not joking, almost every single product, I have used and this stuff will NOT die!!

it almost looks like a mini st. augustine grass, but its not. it starts in little clumps and is a light lime green color... some of them even have a little purple in it is seems?

anyway, anything short of tearing entire yard up and starting fresh, how can I get rid of this? I thought of spot treating with roundup or something, but that really wouldnt work as its all over now. It seems like when i fertilize and ironite my lawn, this stuff grows in more instead of my bermuda!!

kirk1701
06-05-2012, 09:35 AM
Hard to tell with it cut short, can you post a picture with it grown a bit or even better a blade with the root attached.

I'm guessing crabgrass or foxtail but your description with a little purple in it I'm leaning more toward crabgrass.

00bolt
06-05-2012, 09:40 AM
I just cut it yesterday, so be a while before i can post it longer. But i can pull some up tonight after work and post a pic with the roots.

crazy if it is crabgrass because i have put down so much crabgrass killer its not funny...

kirk1701
06-05-2012, 09:54 AM
I just cut it yesterday, so be a while before i can post it longer. But i can pull some up tonight after work and post a pic with the roots.

crazy if it is crabgrass because i have put down so much crabgrass killer its not funny...

Yea, that will do but get the tallest one you can find and we'll go from there.

That stuff from the box stores is so watered down you can practically drink it, don't surprise me none.

00bolt
06-05-2012, 09:57 AM