PDA

View Full Version : 1 head = 2hrs

Turf Dawg
06-07-2012, 11:04 PM
As most of you know I am new to the irrigation side.
I have had several people call and say they have one head bad but when I inspect the system they really have plenty of things that need replaced. Is this the way it usually goes? I have been trying to fit the irrigation in along with my other services but am having trouble with scheduling times. One person said they need one head replaced so I went by on a Sat afternoon and ended up changing 13 and fixing one leak. Dr office called and said they had one head off and ended up replacing 4 rotors, 5 sprays and replacing two nozzles. This seem to be the norm so far.
How do y'all schedule the time between service calls? If it is much more that what was originally told to you do you come back or just go ahead and fix?

FIMCO-MEISTER
06-07-2012, 11:52 PM
I tried to only schedule three jobs a day to allow for that kind of stuff and/or to sell upgrades. It is a whole lot easier to move work forward than trying to reschedule into a packed schedule. Try to leave Saturdays open for catchup work. Unfinished invoices can kill you.

Sprinkler systems are never finished they are just brought to an invoice. Figure out how much time you have available. Do the work you can in that allotted time. Bill the customer and get them back on the calendar for more work.

ArTurf
06-08-2012, 06:24 AM
On systems that have not been regularly serviced there are usually several things wrong. Always count on spending more time that you think. What I try to sell is a spring start up where I run through everything and get it right to begin with.