PDA

View Full Version : Laugh or cry. Questions from HOs

FIMCO-MEISTER
06-10-2012, 01:13 PM
Ive been participating in various plumbing threads for biz reasons. Thought I'd start a thread where we could post the inane posts found elsewhere.

I'm new to this business of automated sprinkler systems and am seeking some advice on my home system. I have nine zones in place that are watered by a submersible pump in my yard well. I have always manually changed to the different zones by hooking up the different hoses and then turning on/off my pump to get the job done. I'd like to automate so that when I'm away, the yard and garden still get watered.
I realize I'll have to set up a box with at least nine solenoid valves with a timer to control them. I plan to have the box at ground level so I can disconnect water and power at the end of the watering season and move the unit indoors to prevent freezing damage. Here are my concerns: 1. How do I coordinate the turning on/off of the pump(220 volt) with the control timer? 2. Can the pump be running as I change from one zone to another without damaging the pump? 3. Can you recommend a good control timer to handle this situation?

FIMCO-MEISTER
06-10-2012, 01:15 PM
Another

So I have this 27'x37' yard where I'm trying to add a sprinkler system. I've read several article and saw a post where this guy did a DIY sprinkler system for his yard. he used Flex PVC pipes for his system. after seeing that I got motivated to convert my existing system (garden hose and walmart stake type sprinklers) to a slightly better one where I don't need to stand and watch.

I bought some Orbit timer and just need to run some pipes in two spots and some heads. so here's what I'm thinking, run some standard PVC (since they're much cheaper than flex pvc) to two spots that I've determined and bury the pipes probably 6" in the ground with shovel or whatever tool I can use.