PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever get good tips on a job

nepatsfan
06-10-2012, 05:46 PM
We did a patio, firepit, walkway and some plantings for a customer of ours. A few days ago the woman who lives there gave me a bose bluetooth. She said that her and her husband noticed I was on the phone all the time and thought this would work great for me. It was a really nice gesture. This happened on wednesday. We finished the job up on Friday and the husband handed me two checks, the final payment and a tip. I drove back to my shop to unload and on my way pulled out the checks to see what the tip was and to my amazement it was a check for $400. I have gotten tips before, but I could not believe they gave me a bose bluetooth and $400. I have been working for these people for 5-6 years and they have always been really nice people but I never expected that much money.

Anyone else have any good tip stories. My second best was $100 last year on a patio, she told me to take the guys out for lunch. Other than that, just very small amounts(which are still very nice and not necessary- like 10 or 20 bucks or buying us lunch etc.)

DVS Hardscaper
06-10-2012, 07:09 PM
I had a lady give me money to buy a new puppy.

We were doing work for her while I was in the market for a puppy. She is a dog fanatic and I was telling her about various litters we were lookin at. Just making conversation.

She was asking how much and this and that and I was telling her, not thinking anything about it.

At the end if the job on the last day she comes out and hands me $175, and she does it so the workers could not see.

I said "thank you, I'll divde this up among everyone here".

She replied "oh no - that's for your new puppy". That was the cost of the Puppy we decided to get.

I was so caught off guard and shocked!
Posted via Mobile Device

jbailey52
06-10-2012, 07:25 PM
I gotta know... Where do you get a $175 puppy?!?

Duekster
06-10-2012, 07:44 PM