PDA

View Full Version : mulch job.. renting a dingo vs hiring help

facework84
06-11-2012, 02:30 PM
I'm generally a solo op, with the exception of a mulch job, brush removal, gutter cleaning, etc.

In the past, I've had bad luck with people being reliable.

I have a job to do this week, 14 cy of mulch & 34 bales of long leaf pine straw. The pine straw is in a pretty wide open area, but most of the mulch is around flowers and small shrubs (a lot of hands and knees work)

With the rental of the mini skid, I'm thinking my total cost will be a little higher, but it should go faster, and I don't have to worry about unreliables.

What do you think? Me and 4 other guys doing it by hand, or rent a skid and hire two guys? Most of the area to be mulched is on either side of the area where the mulch will be dropped.

I've never used a skid before either.. so not sure how much faster it is vs a crew with two wheelbarrows
-Antoni

f50lvr2
06-11-2012, 07:47 PM
How about the skid and 1 other helper? If it's mostly hands and knees stuff it'd definitely be nice to put spread out the wear and tear to other peoples hands and knees.

grassyfras
06-11-2012, 09:40 PM
How would the mini skid help? Dumping into barrels? I think 4 guys could do that job in a day. Do you use a large pitchfork to shovel out the truck or trailer into barrels? If your not, maybe you should.

facework84
06-11-2012, 09:54 PM
@grassfras
Nah, for dumping it near/in the beds
I'd rather not be out there for 8 hours
The mulch will be on the ground, delivered by the dump truck

@f150
are you saying a dingo, and 3 helpers, while i watch?

nepatsfan
06-11-2012, 09:59 PM
If you get a skid you have to be careful about tearing up turf. I have never used mini skid but I don't use our skid steer to do mulch unless we are installing a new lawn too or we have access to the beds without going on the turf. If you aren't familiar with using one you can tear up turf pretty bad when turning.(even if you are actually)

homerescue