PDA

View Full Version : 7 Rainbird 5000 not covering

weed wacker 2
07-03-2012, 10:02 PM
Im not an expert on irrigation but I am slowly learning. I have a property where 7 Rainbird 500s are only covering 22ft. They are 8ft short of what they need to cover. Im not sure what the problem is. I don't know if its pressure related or what. The system is 4 years old.

DanaMac
07-03-2012, 10:07 PM
Have they ever worked properly?
Could be low pressure, clogged filter, nozzles too large, or possibly 10 other things.
Posted via Mobile Device

weed wacker 2
07-03-2012, 10:24 PM
Yeah I know there is several different things that could factor in. Im not sure if they have worked properly before because we havent been taking care of the property long. Also in the controller box, the wire to the zone 14 is not even connected in the box. I couldnt even find the wire a wire that goes there. The #4 was unhooked also. I hooked it up and its working properly.

AskTurfPro
07-03-2012, 10:30 PM
Sounds like you have a low flow situation. Does the system have a pump or is it city water. If you can measure the supply, then you will know if you have enough flow to power 7 heads. What size nozzles do the heads have. If they all have 2.0 Gallon per minute (GPM) nozzles the you'll need 14 GPM from your supply to pressure them up.

weed wacker 2
07-03-2012, 11:09 PM
Sounds like you have a low flow situation. Does the system have a pump or is it city water. If you can measure the supply, then you will know if you have enough flow to power 7 heads. What size nozzles do the heads have. If they all have 2.0 Gallon per minute (GPM) nozzles the you'll need 14 GPM from your supply to pressure them up.