PDA

View Full Version : Bid lists?

M. Landscaping
01-05-2003, 08:49 PM
Looking for information and feedback regarding bid lists.
I have been landscaping for the last 2 years building up maintenance accouts. I have the capabilities and know how to do medium sized landscape jobs (ex. restaurants, hotels, etc.) I just do not know how to get in on the bidding for these type jobs.
-Do you put your name in the phonebook and just wait for calls ( I am proactive and do not like to wait but if that is the best way)
-Is there some sort of state bidding lists to get on?
or are there better ways?
Thanks for your feedback.

Mykster
01-07-2003, 12:32 AM
Call local builders/commercial contractors and tell them you are interested in bidding future projects. Give them some info about you and your business and some projects you have completed. It's tough to "get in" so to speak. Their usually on a budget and want you to be able to do it for next to nothing. Just keep working at it.

This is just through my own experiences so, I hope this helps.

Good Luck.

TurfGuyTX
01-07-2003, 10:32 PM
You might look at www.demandstar.com and see if it would be of any benefit to you.

MPhillips
01-10-2003, 02:00 PM
Calling local builders and developers is probably your best bet. Keep your name in front of them, make a buddy or 2 of their foremen, do good work when you get a shot, and you'll get business, it may take awhile though. Do your homework before dealing with them though. Get your payment agreements up front and in writing. It's usually best to take small payments frequently, many developers extend themselves financially to leverage larger projects, and they can reach too far which at best will force them to pay you very late. Make sure you have a handle on your costs too...your marging will be much smaller in commercial...cash flow may be higher, but margins will be smaller...you'll be bidding on tight margins.

RwADesigner
01-12-2003, 08:04 PM