PDA

View Full Version : ford 7.3 problem

vaacutabove
07-20-2012, 06:24 PM
I bought a 97 7.3 with a dump on it what I think is a good price. It needed Reverse gear and a synchronizer no problem. However It does not have a lot of acceleration It is turbo but Im not sure what the problem is. Any Ideas. keep in mind I am not a mechanic but can hold my own just my first diesel

dieseltech
07-21-2012, 02:07 AM
Any other specifics besides "not alot of acceleration"?
Posted via Mobile Device

CLARK LAWN
07-21-2012, 02:41 AM
Old and/or low oil level, dirty fuel filter, restricted exhaust, exhaust leak before turbo, turbo not spooling up, charge air leak (lines or cooler). To many possibilities without knowing more info.
Posted via Mobile Device

vaacutabove
07-21-2012, 10:18 AM
This week oil and filters will be changed. Just wondering if there was a common problem. I only get 10mpgthem loaded or not. I just got it not to long ago. Only has 140 k on it
Posted via Mobile Device

vaacutabove
07-21-2012, 01:42 PM
The check engine light came on while pulling hills today but went off wen its turned off. If that helps
Posted via Mobile Device

KrayzKajun
07-21-2012, 02:21 PM
Go to a diesel shop, and have them check it out. Post yur question on powerstrokenation.com
Posted via Mobile Device

dieselss
07-21-2012, 10:08 PM
Was it at wide open throttle or pretty close to it when the light came on ? Did you put you hand over the exhaust and feel what's coming out. Any loud hissing noises while under throttle??
Posted via Mobile Device

slowleak1
07-21-2012, 11:22 PM
If its a 97 with a dump, I would assume its got a 4.10 rear. Maybe even a 4.56. If thats the case, you wont get much acceleration out of it, its geared low for heavy loads, and only makes about 160 hp tops. You need to check by the firewall and see if you see any soot around the turbo area, and check where the exhaust manifolds meet the up-pipes and up-pipes meet the y collector at the turbo.