PDA

View Full Version : C9's on the spool or cut to length


CleanCut1
07-27-2012, 02:27 PM
When installing C9's or C7's from a bulk spool, what do you do:

Unspool and cut the distance for the section before installing?

or

Keep the cord on the spool and unroll as you install?

hotrod1965
07-29-2012, 05:39 PM
When installing C9's or C7's from a bulk spool, what do you do:

Unspool and cut the distance for the section before installing?

or

Keep the cord on the spool and unroll as you install?

Unroll as you install. This will prevent you from making measuring mistakes.

CleanCut1
07-29-2012, 07:36 PM
Thanks for the reply Hotrod.

That's the way we did it last year. We did it that way to not waste cord. We made a spool holder on wheels and unrolled as we went.

That method did pose some problems though. We fought trees and lanscaping all the time and we had to have a person with an extension pole keeping tension off the cord, keeping cord out of trees and bushes, etc. We also had cord come down like dominoes when we were almost done with a very difficult section. We eventually learned to triple clip every five bulbs or so to prevent this.

I just wondered if others install this way. With all the problems we had, I wondered if it would be more cost effective (in time savings and elimination of the guy standing there holding a pole) to just cut a little more than needed and factor in the waste of cord.

turf hokie
07-30-2012, 08:52 PM
I think Hotrod's way is probably the more popular, but we dont do it that way.

We prep in the shop, we will pull predetermined lengths of wire and add clips and lights.

I think it saves time in the field and the installers can install and not have to prep and then install....

there is a newer "speed clip" shingle tab out now that may take this need away and we can put the lights on the cord and then respool, the guys can then slide the shingle tabs over the lights as they install...I have some in stock, just have not tried them yet..

addictedtolandscaping
07-31-2012, 07:13 PM
Brian, please do tell about this speed clip. I have been using all in ones as well as shingle tabs, but it would be nice to only have to stock one clip;.

addictedtolandscaping
07-31-2012, 07:14 PM
I have done the c-9's both ways. I had a guy with me one time, cost me about 250' of cord as he either couldn't read the ruler when he measured them out or confused what iI was telling him. He continuously cut it a foot or two to short. I would rather throw out 12" instead of having several feet laying around.

turf hokie
07-31-2012, 09:40 PM
Brian, please do tell about this speed clip. I have been using all in ones as well as shingle tabs, but it would be nice to only have to stock one clip;.

They are the latest version of shingle tabs, they hold 3 sizes of c bulbs, but apparently you can bulb your stringers and this tab will slide over the bulb and lock on rather than having to screw the bulb thru the shingle tab.

95% of our c-9 jobs are done with shingle tabs only, I can count the number of jobs that have any all in ones on one hand...I hate those things...

BeachysLawn
08-01-2012, 01:53 AM
We use both the unrolling and cut to length methods, just depends on the situation. If there is a lot of landscaping and trees around, it's worth losing several feet of C-9 cord to be able to carry the pre-cut piece with you.

I would certainly be interested in those new shingle clips too.

turf hokie
08-01-2012, 07:49 AM
see the link below for a you tube video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0idXvbSzrQ

or google "speed clip shingle tab"

This thread comes up 4th on the list...unbeleivable how high this site ranks all the time...

Also, just an fyi, these tabs are taller than the old style tabs so you cannot mix them together on existing jobs....

hotrod1965
08-02-2012, 10:20 PM
I guess I should have given a little more detail :)

I'd go off the spool, but it's a lot easier if you unroll roughly what you think you need. This way there isn't any tension, you can work around things..etc.


Thanks for the reply Hotrod.

That's the way we did it last year. We did it that way to not waste cord. We made a spool holder on wheels and unrolled as we went.

That method did pose some problems though. We fought trees and lanscaping all the time and we had to have a person with an extension pole keeping tension off the cord, keeping cord out of trees and bushes, etc. We also had cord come down like dominoes when we were almost done with a very difficult section. We eventually learned to triple clip every five bulbs or so to prevent this.

I just wondered if others install this way. With all the problems we had, I wondered if it would be more cost effective (in time savings and elimination of the guy standing there holding a pole) to just cut a little more than needed and factor in the waste of cord.