PDA

View Full Version : Would this be a bad excavator to buy?

edrrt
08-04-2012, 05:26 AM
I'm new to excavators and wondering if anyone who knows what their looking at can tell me if I'm making a mistake buying this unit.

http://youtu.be/HMWCCBiqiJk

Agreed to buy this excavator but have not inspected it yet. I think its a 2000 Takeuchi TB125 with 2,500 hours.

What worries me is that of all the ones I have seen for sale none are dented and this one has some dents in the back hood and edges along with a re-spray. How hard is it to dent these up and should I suspect an overly abused unit? The treads also seem to have deep cuts in them which makes me wonder if it saw broken concrete/ demo work.

The story is bought from sunbelt rents in 2003 by contractor who supposedly maintained it well until selling to another contractor who bought for a month then resprayed it and decided to sell it.

Do you guys see any problems or things I should check into before forking over the cash?

It's going to be for a farm, and about 9.5k delivered.

What do you guys think?

Any input from those in the know is appreciated.

Thanks,

Mason

AWJ Services
08-04-2012, 10:34 AM
Once a machine has had the paint can rebuild it really makes it hard to tell from pictures. It does have a thumb and bucket coupler and if all the pins and bushings seem pretty good it is a decent price.

RSK Property Maintenance
08-04-2012, 09:24 PM
looks good, sounds normal, make sure you idle the machine down before shutting off, not good to have a machine wide open when you start it. my dad has the exact same machine, but he bought it brand new in 06 for 50,000 and its a great machine, he's only got 1100hrs on his but all his stuff has low hours on it and he buys his equipment new, and i do as well.

Stony Bob
08-04-2012, 10:22 PM
I love my 125
even at 3200 hrs

Check the drive motors.
Remove the plug and check the oil.
Just because you don't see any leaks does not mean anything.