PDA

View Full Version : St Augustine Diagnosis

ArTurf
08-12-2012, 03:25 PM
What do you think is going on with this St Aug? I will be the first to admit I am not good at disease ID. Really haven't had too much of a problem in the past. I know this is not a water issue. We have been in a drought as most of the country then we had a week where it rained alot and then I noticed these spots showing up on several St Aug yard. I seems to start with the tip of the leaf yellowing and then spots seem to die out. Maybe I just happened to notice it after the rain but it seemed to be related time wise. I was thinking Brown patch but doesn't that usually show up in cooler temps? It is very warm here 90-100+. Any thoughts?

ArTurf
08-12-2012, 03:27 PM
Trying to upload pics if not on this post it will be later.
http://i764.photobucket.com/albums/xx290/zoeygirl61209/davidiphone019.jpg
http://i764.photobucket.com/albums/xx290/zoeygirl61209/davidiphone018.jpg

ted putnam
08-12-2012, 03:52 PM
Could be "hot spots". Have you probed for buried debris? I am starting to see grubs in some areas due to attractiveness of stressed turf. Mostly in zoysia but then again, I don't care for much St. Aug.

Patriot Services
08-12-2012, 03:58 PM
Looking on a smart phone so pic is hard to look at. Looks too short and with dull blades. With these temps SA does its best at 4~5".
Posted via Mobile Device

ArTurf
08-12-2012, 04:21 PM
Looking on a smart phone so pic is hard to look at. Looks too short and with dull blades. With these temps SA does its best at 4~5".
Posted via Mobile Device

Not that. This grass is maintained at 4". I sharpen my blades often but if they were dull at the end of the day I am very sure that is not it, very localized not everywhere.

Landscape Poet
08-12-2012, 04:34 PM