PDA

View Full Version : Wheel loader cycle times

Krafty
08-23-2012, 05:55 PM
We have a job comming up that is out of our normal. Basic jist of it is loading out 230 yards of spoils mixture of dirt and gravel. We will be hauling out in semi end dumps. Cooridnating truck will not be a problem so we should not hardly have any down time waiting on trucks. We are considering renting a 444k JD wheel loader to get the loading done. Considering this becasue of the speed and the loading height. I have no experience bidding a job with a wheel loader. Questions is with one wheel loader what can I expect to be able to load an hour?? The pile will be right next to trucks.

Next question the area we are excavating is approximatley 15,500 sq ft about 4" deep. If I send my two skids in the day before will the wheel loader be able to keep up with them or will they be able to keep up with the wheel loader. Excavation will be right next to pile. I know what my skids are capable of but lost on the wheel loader lol?? I know alot of this is dependent on operators but anybody have an opinion on this or a better idea I am not thinking of??

stuvecorp
08-23-2012, 06:31 PM
I'd say go bigger on the loader, more like 624/644 size. I would think with an okay operator you could keep up, how many trucks and what would be the load cycle times?

Dirtman2007
08-23-2012, 07:13 PM
We have a job comming up that is out of our normal. Basic jist of it is loading out 230 yards of spoils mixture of dirt and gravel. We will be hauling out in semi end dumps. Cooridnating truck will not be a problem so we should not hardly have any down time waiting on trucks. We are considering renting a 444k JD wheel loader to get the loading done. Considering this becasue of the speed and the loading height. I have no experience bidding a job with a wheel loader. Questions is with one wheel loader what can I expect to be able to load an hour?? The pile will be right next to trucks.