PDA

View Full Version : Bids

Agape
09-07-2012, 11:42 AM
Yeah, I'm a newbie.
How many of you go to an estimate and give a quote right on the spot?
Right now I take measurements and talk to the HO at the first meeting, and then provide a quote within a week.
As I get more product/ pricing knowledge I can probably give an immediate bid on most stuff.

Just wondering the "norm":waving:

LTL
09-07-2012, 04:38 PM
You may get other ideas here, but NEVER EVER give on the site quotes. This could really backfire on you. You need time to look over all the details of the project as to make sure you don't miss anything.

xtreem3d
09-07-2012, 04:56 PM
You may get other ideas here, but NEVER EVER give on the site quotes. This could really backfire on you. You need time to look over all the details of the project as to make sure you don't miss anything.

What he said.....i also let the customer know ahead of time that i will need to go back and figure the bid so they aren't disappointed.

zedosix
09-07-2012, 05:24 PM
On the spot quotes is ok if you have a tree to cut or a stump to pull out, but for a detailed hardscape job its not possible to be accurate "on the spot"

Agape
09-07-2012, 08:08 PM
Ok, thanks.
That's what i figured but i wanted to make sure i wasn't missing something.

DVS Hardscaper
09-07-2012, 08:49 PM
Let's lose the term "bid". Auctions have "bids".

And let's use the term "proposal"

Or "quote"

all ferris
09-07-2012, 08:50 PM
On the spot quotes is ok if you have a tree to cut or a stump to pull out, but for a detailed hardscape job its not possible to be accurate "on the spot"