PDA

View Full Version : Tips & Advice on changing blades (1st timer)

astrohip
09-20-2012, 10:42 AM
I have a Bad Boy Lightning Z 52" (Kawa 31HP). I ordered a new set of blades from Bad Boy, and am ready to install them this weekend.

I've never done this before. Any tips or tricks I should know?

Any and all advice appreciated!

Florida Gardener
09-20-2012, 10:52 AM
All you need to do is take the old ones off and put the new ones on....a 15/16 bolt should do it.
Posted via Mobile Device

astrohip
09-20-2012, 10:55 AM
Thanks. Any torque concerns?

Florida Gardener
09-20-2012, 11:22 AM
I just hit the wrench like 2 or 3 times and that has never been a problem.
Posted via Mobile Device

Dr.NewEarth
09-20-2012, 11:57 AM
What does the manual say?

astrohip
09-20-2012, 12:22 PM
What does the manual say?
Ha! Good one.:hammerhead:

RAlmaroad
09-21-2012, 10:57 AM
Don't know the configuration on the Bad Boy but make sure you have enough clearance on the bottom. A Scag has about an 8" bolt up through the spindle with access on the top. If you have to jack it up make sure that the wheels sit on cinder blocks or whatever. Personally I have a chain hoist and air impact--makes thing almost too easy. Put a little no seize (1 pack from Advanced Auto will do all three bolts) Scags have fittings for grease or you might have to put a little some where on turning parts.

astrohip
09-21-2012, 11:47 AM
Thanks. I'm going to try it tomorrow.

astrohip
09-22-2012, 03:44 PM
All you need to do is take the old ones off and put the new ones on....a 15/16 bolt should do it.
Posted via Mobile Device

Changed blades today. Yep, needed a 15/16 socket, and of course I had every size but that. Quick trip to Tractor Supply. Then I needed to use a breaker bar, they were frozen tight. Then I realized I needed to lock the blades in place, or they turned with the socket wrench. Rigged a block of wood.

After all that, piece of cake. :drinkup:

Appreciate the advice!

Florida Gardener
09-22-2012, 03:46 PM