PDA

View Full Version : Remote Control Help


Richie@
10-13-2012, 04:33 PM
I am looking for a remote control device to control a 1500 watt 120 volt load , the control would have to mount in a two section PVC electrical box with hand held remote , any help would be thankful.

Richie

Richie@
10-13-2012, 08:19 PM
Found one that just might work.

http://www.homecontrols.com/SimpleWorx-Fixture-Module-Relay-PCSWXFMRAC

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
10-14-2012, 01:05 PM
Richie. I have something that you might be interested in. It is a simple but effective RF transmitter and receiver/switch combo. Best would be to send me a PM or email for the details. Substantially less money than the unit you have found.

Regards

Viewpoint
10-16-2012, 07:47 PM
Richie- You may also look into Insteon relays, as they have remote capability, and the price point is a bit less. http://www.smarthome.com/_/INSTEON/Wire_in_Outlet_Modules/_/23b/1Qb/nav.aspx

Richie@
10-17-2012, 01:06 PM
Thank you for the Information guy's.

Richie

Richie@
10-23-2012, 09:15 AM
Richie- You may also look into Insteon relays, as they have remote capability, and the price point is a bit less. http://www.smarthome.com/_/INSTEON/Wire_in_Outlet_Modules/_/23b/1Qb/nav.aspx

I ordered an 1800 watt relay and also a small hand held remote , will let you know how it works when we get it set up.

Thanks Again

oberkc
10-23-2012, 09:46 AM
I have a pretty extensive insteon installation in my house, and like it quite a bit.

Which remote did you order? The remotelinc2?

While the inlinelinc relay has RF capability, be aware that range can be greatly affected by installation. Metal boxes and wires and wall materials can have significant affect on this range.

Hopefully, you won't run into any range issues. If you do, however, there are solutions, but this would require an extra device, or two (see access points).

Personally, I use four insteon devices (appliancelinc) to control four zones of landscape lighting.

Richie@
10-23-2012, 09:55 AM
This relay

http://www.smarthome.com/2475SDB/In-LineLinc-Relay-INSTEON-Remote-Control-In-Line-On-Off-Switch-Dual-Band/p.aspx

This hand held remote

http://www.smarthome.com/2444A2WH4/RemoteLinc-2-INSTEON-Wireless-Keypad-4-Scene/p.aspx

oberkc
10-23-2012, 11:17 AM
OK. That is the inlinelinc relay and remotelinc 2. Pending confirmation of range, these should give you the ability to remotely control the load attached to the inlinelinc.

In case it is not clear, the inlinelinc can also be made to respond to other insteon controller-type devices, such as wall switches and keypads. If you had a spare box location or unused switch location, you could install an insteon switch and link it to the inlinelinc, using it to control the load as well as using the remotelinc for this purpose.

In my house, I have four physical locations (all keypads) from which I can manually control my landscape lighting, as well as a dedicated home automation android tablet, and my phone. My landscape lighting is also controlled automatically, based on sunset and season.

I don't know of your long-term intentions, but thought you should be aware of the possibilities, in case you were not already.

Richie@
10-23-2012, 11:33 AM
Thanks for the additional information,these controls are for Pool lighting , the relay will be

approximately 30 feet from the enclosed porch area where the remote will be.