PDA

View Full Version : no trailer brakes


tlc2002
10-14-2012, 12:15 AM
I have no power at plug for electric brakes but the test light does flash when brakes are applied

knox gsl
10-14-2012, 12:17 AM
The brakes and lights should be on 2 separate circuits.
Posted via Mobile Device

tlc2002
10-14-2012, 12:20 AM
All trailer lights work

knox gsl
10-14-2012, 12:26 AM
Most likely dealing with a something wrong on the trailer side. The controller will send out the power but if there is no resistance it will switch off.
Posted via Mobile Device

tlc2002
10-14-2012, 12:28 AM
Thanks I will check in morning

knox gsl
10-14-2012, 12:29 AM
Check for resistance on the trailer plug. Check between the ground and brake circuit should have 1.5-2 ohms of resistance.
Posted via Mobile Device

mlavin73
10-14-2012, 08:00 AM
I just had an issue with the brakes on my dump trailer. I knew it was the trailer because the enclosed didn't generate any faults on my trailer brake controller. I checked and wiggled every inch of the wire and couldn't find any issues. Checked the ground and it looked clean. I redid every single connection and it still didn't resolve the issue. Finally I pulled out the emergency brake wire (the one the stops the trailer if it gets seperated from the truck) and plugged it back in and viola the error went away. I still occassionally get the error so I need to replace the box, but in a pinch I can pull it and put it back and it works again.