PDA

View Full Version : Getting Dirty

eskals
08-18-2000, 07:53 PM
Normally I work w/o the help of employees. However, as I have begun to tackle some bigger jobs, I have hiried some help. I hiried two guys that I know from high school (I am only 18). One is a sophmore and the other is a junior. When working as a crew, the young guy is always the cleanest at the end of the day.

Today, we had a job trimming some bushes, pulling weeds, and yanking out a small tree. When the customer comes out to pay me, he asks "how come you're so dirty and he (the youung guy) is so clean?" (We were both wearing white shirts, and mine was filthy). He also does very little w/o gloves on.

Do you guys think that this is an issue? I know that he works slower than my other guy, but I also pay him less.

Is getting dirty an accurate gauge of work done?

I know what my decision is, I would like to hear your opinion as I have little experience with employees.

Thanks

Eric

Twotoros
08-18-2000, 08:31 PM
I work smart and hard and at the end of the day I look like a pig . If being a pretty boy has become part of the job then I guess I should quit and go work at the slaughter house . If I had a customer judge me by my looks I would 'SET HIM FREE" like the turd in the toilet he is.

Twotoros
08-18-2000, 08:47 PM
Contact me at the slaughterhouse I guess .

I start out clean but................. them 90 degree days , sweat and all that dust just love me to much .

richard2
08-18-2000, 08:51 PM
for $50, plus shipping, on your credit card, i will send you a shirt that looks as if you have worked a full day and a half digging foxholes or planting trees or whatever...on the back printed in large blue letters is one simple word,"CONSCRIPT" you should get one for your guy and make him wear it....even when you go out for a beer in a couple years!

trimmasters
08-18-2000, 10:11 PM
Being 18 my self with 4 full time workers, maby I can be of some help.