PDA

View Full Version : To all the new guys

Spring Valley Lawn Service
11-08-2012, 08:50 AM
This my second year and I am still learning. A lot of people in the lawn buisneess have given me great advice. The only thing I wasn't told is I neededmechanical skills and a place to work on mowers. Bought a new mower and thought it breaks and dealer fixes it. There are still oil changes, blade sharpenings, and cleaning equipment. I'm not saying you have to have a big shop or a lot of tools just saying make sure you got some were to work. There is a lot of up keep.

Patriot Services
11-08-2012, 09:20 AM
I've tried to tell this to new guys before and always got flamed. They all think new stuff doesn't break. Home Depot will give me a new one. A day doesn't go by I don't have to pick up a tool. If you don't have repair skills you better have multiple backups and a good amount of money for the repair shop.
Posted via Mobile Device

clydebusa
11-08-2012, 10:38 AM
The part I love is I make ......... doing the lawn. It usually takes a couple of years for a newb to figure they spend after hours and Saturdays/Sundays doing maintennance. Then the light comes on to figure for every 1 hour in the field to add 15 minute for upkeep, drive, estimate times. Then instead of averaging ** dollars an hour it is much less.

11-08-2012, 11:20 AM
What saved me is I already had a shop and tools. So days it rains I work on my equipment and don't get behind. Maybe we need a rule list for new guys. Being new maybe I'll make one or a list of my mistakes.

flyingdutch16
11-09-2012, 10:26 AM
This is a very good thread. Especially for new guys who think equipment is not gonna break. Also for the younger guys out there in their teens who think that their equipment will just last. It won't. You need to take care of it and maintenance the hell out it especially uses equipment.
Posted via Mobile Device

1ATony
11-09-2012, 04:33 PM