PDA

View Full Version : Mowers Running?

Lawnzoo
11-28-2012, 10:20 AM
I am new to business and have overheard others within the business state they keep mowers running on and inside of trailers all day. Is this the norm SOP?

Darryl G
11-28-2012, 10:27 AM
I would say no it's not the norm. I will sometimes leave a mower running on my open trailer this time of year on my way to my first account just to warm it up before use. Leaving mowers running in an enclosed trailer is a bad idea and should never be done.

HPI_Savage25
11-28-2012, 11:09 AM
I wouldn't ever leave a mower running while on the trailer, much less IN a trailer. I have an enclosed trailer and dump inside. Even when the trailer starts getting full I also turn the mower around so the motor/exhaust is no where near the grass or leaves as to not start a fire.

Durabird02
11-28-2012, 11:30 AM
I have left my rider running while going between jobs, but only with an open trailers. I would not let it run all day, just for short drives.

wegomow
11-28-2012, 11:35 AM
According to Kohler,.....It is recommended to warm an engine for 3 minute before use. Allow the engine to run at idle for one minute after use to let it reach normal operating temperature if it was run hard. Running a warm engine at idle for longer periods can cause the plugs to foul.

Lawnzoo
11-28-2012, 01:01 PM
what's the purpose? To save battery??

dstifel
11-28-2012, 05:23 PM
WHen it is cold out i usually start my mower at my house and let it run to the first job just because a lot of my stuff is old and cold blooded and can sometime be a pain to start the first time each day. Keeps you from looking bad in front of customers trying to get it started after a 20 degree night.

Patriot Services
11-28-2012, 05:29 PM
Wasting gas, fire threat, bad for aircooled engines, increased pollution. Not a single reason to do it. If your engine doesn't start when cold get it fixed.
Posted via Mobile Device

CowboysLawnCareDelaware
11-28-2012, 06:03 PM