PDA

View Full Version : Who can Tell me about Walker mowers?

d.klas
12-23-2012, 05:42 PM
Walker delivers and excellent cut quality and the GHS is a good design but to all you walker users out there...... Can you tell me about the maintenance on them?
I am thinking of getting one..
I've heard that they break down a lot and require a lot of repair and maintenance and that they arent very strong.
Are there any machines I should consider? I would go for a Ferris Zero Turn or Toro and use the bagging system for the fall but.. I really like the out front deck of the walker that can mow more tight areas and cut down trimming time..

What do you guys think?

devinraptor
12-23-2012, 06:49 PM
This is my first year with a walker and they are a maintenance hog! I love the mower i really do it leaves a really really nice cut. We put about 425 hours on it this year and broke one belt and 3 shear bolts. I bought the mower new and we take really good care of our equipment. My biggest complaint is greasing it everyday. I will still buy another one. I run all types of mowers wrights, toro, exmark, husqvarna and now walker.
Posted via Mobile Device

jrs.landscaping
12-23-2012, 06:53 PM
We have 6 Walkers. The first Walker I ran had 3k hours when we parked it and we did nothing other than routine maintenance:weightlifter:.

Curtis
12-23-2012, 07:38 PM
Jr. how many blowers did you go through ? What kind of engine was that by the way ?

jrs.landscaping
12-23-2012, 07:44 PM
Kohler 25, we had a crack in the blower but we fabbed a plate to cover the crack which held until we retired the mower. The only thing we have replaced on our mowers are hydro pumps because we mow around a lot of obstacles/hills. The newer blowers are a lot stronger and are supposed to hold up better than the old ones.

ed2hess
12-23-2012, 07:51 PM