PDA

View Full Version : Zero Turn Ruts

recycledsole
12-24-2012, 09:58 PM
Hey guys,
i am new to using ZTRs. i have an exmark metro 36 wb belt drive fixed deck. When i am at the end of the cut and i need to turn around to continue the cut i want to make a 180 degree turn. When i do this it rips the grass and leaves a bare spot. Is there a way to avoid this?
thanks alot i really appreciate and advice on this very basic question.

dKoester
12-24-2012, 10:08 PM
Make a K -turn. When your at the end of the stripe you are on, turn into the next row but only half way (90 degrees) then back up and re-align now your on your new cut.

ric1
12-24-2012, 10:14 PM
Hey guys,
i am new to using ZTRs. i have an exmark metro 36 wb belt drive fixed deck. When i am at the end of the cut and i need to turn around to continue the cut i want to make a 180 degree turn. When i do this it rips the grass and leaves a bare spot. Is there a way to avoid this?
thanks alot i really appreciate and advice on this very basic question.

Some call it a K turn others say a Y turn but dKoester got it right on the button.

dKoester
12-24-2012, 10:19 PM
I agree its a Y. I had to visualize it in my head.

LandFakers
12-24-2012, 10:37 PM
Y's, K's same concept, and you can use them to not tear up the grass while your new. Once you get nice and comfy you can just spin around.

JParisan
12-24-2012, 10:38 PM
Just like a 3 point turn in a car. Keep it slow.

recycledsole
12-24-2012, 10:47 PM
oh. thanks guys. so once you get accustomed to it, how do you do it? on a belt drive that would be pretty slow. i will just continue making wide turns if i cant make a zero turn.
thank you very much guys

LandFakers
12-24-2012, 11:36 PM