PDA

View Full Version : GPS Tracking

cooltype
12-29-2012, 07:36 PM
Do any of you all have experience installing GPS Tracking systems on your work trucks that will tell you where the truck is, where it has stopped that day, how long they stopped, etc. to help keep up with employees progress and keep everybody honest? If so what system are you using? Pros/Cons? Thanks in advance

acculawnsystems
12-29-2012, 08:02 PM
Yes, we have been using live view GPS. It does keep the workers more honest because they can not trump the GPS. It always tells the truth. We tell the crews that we have GPS on the trucks. Most do not like the fact that we do because they can not get away with much.

PlantscapeSolutions
12-30-2012, 01:49 AM
I've been using Realtrack GPS for several years. The device is hidden up under the dash. The best thing to do is to install it and don't tell your guys about it for a month. This way you can document any issues you see and find out if you've been getting the shaft. If you tell your guys right away it will let them cover their trail.

I don't think anyone can beat RealTrack's GPS price of $18 per month. No contract and you can shut off service if any trucks are parked and not in use for a while. I've had multiple places call me trying to sell me on GPS but when I tell them about RealTrack and my price they don't know what to say.

Weekend cut easymoney
12-30-2012, 01:56 AM
I've heard that works well...device is like 100 bucks...trying to get something to integtate with my clip scheduling program

PlantscapeSolutions
12-30-2012, 01:07 PM
I've heard that works well...device is like 100 bucks...trying to get something to integtate with my clip scheduling program

You may have seen some of my prior posts. The device runs $180. GPS is so cheap now it's really a bad business decision to run your crew or crews blind from the office and assume their doing everything the way you intended.

ELS Landscape
12-30-2012, 01:10 PM