PDA

View Full Version : College Student Mowing Lawns

zukboy789
01-02-2013, 03:08 AM
Well guys, i need you inputs. I am 18 going on 19 (in june) and I am a college student. In the summer, im looking to pick up lawns for me to mow in the summer for extra cash. Ill be working from end of april until the end of august. Any ideas on what i should do?

A little hindsight about me, i worked for a landscaping company for three years (all through highschool) and a lawn care company this past summer. I had 5 lawns i mowed all year but have since passed them to my younger brother who does them because i cant. I have a Honda HRR216VXA with 110hrs on it, a Stihl FS55r with 30 Hrs. on it and plan on picking up a Stihl BG55 if I have work to do this summer. I am considering working for a landscaper, but i cant justify working for 8-10 bucks an hour when i have the equipment to do it myself and pocket the money for the entire job. What do you all think? Any suggestions or warnings?

hi_speedreed
01-02-2013, 04:03 AM
So you are only planning on mowing from the end of April until the end of August even though the growing season give or take depending on how north you are in PA, is from early April until sometime in October. You want some extra cash and want to pocket all of it. I assume by that statement you are not planning on paying taxes, purchasing insurance, or a business license.

Because of your limitations on time and equipment I say go for it. I don't imagine you would pick up any customers that I would want or any legitimate landscaper would for that matter. People who do not already have their lawn boy lined up by the end of April don't care about their lawn other than the fact they just got a letter from the city saying if they don't get it mowed they will be fined. Or they didn't pay for services rendered by the previous LCO and he quit going back.