PDA

View Full Version : how would you check max rpm- safely..


mowisme
01-06-2013, 02:14 PM
I was going back and forth on getting a tiny-tach and mount it or just get a simple rpm checker to get close rpm and leave at that. Since this is a snowblower and in the cold always I opt for just checking it. I ordered a vibra tach but guess not sure right choice. Heard pro's and con's. But my question is this: If I am to check with that or really any type- how do I run it out to get close to max rpm without risking throwing a rod or something? wouldn't it be bad to run the max rpm for few minutes while adjusting it? also would I have to do this with no load on..is that the way to set max or close to desired safe rpm anyway? thanks a million- Gene

Oldtimer
01-06-2013, 04:49 PM
Follow the manufacturers guidelines for engine speed.

Oldtimer

BigFish
01-06-2013, 07:15 PM
It won't hurt a thing to run it at the max. no-load top speed, AKA high idle. That's what they're designed to do all day.
The engine owners manual will give you the number. The equip. mfg. will tell you what the operating (load) speed will be.
Snow blowers don't have much/any parasitic load to deal with. Whereas, most ZTR and commercial walk-behinds have a lot of P.L. to take into account.

mowisme
01-06-2013, 08:22 PM
Thanks Old Timer and Big Fish..I'll get it set right according to specs. Gene