PDA

View Full Version : Sago palms dying

avernon0112
01-21-2013, 09:43 PM
Can anyone tell me what could be causing this. I am new to dealing with palms. I have spent a few hours reading about this and can not seem to get anywhere.

avernon0112
01-21-2013, 09:46 PM
One more pic

RussellB
01-21-2013, 09:54 PM
looks like frost damage to me. Let it sprout new growth in the spring then remove all old growth. Also looks like some hail damage. Has it hailed there?

Sprinkler Buddy
01-21-2013, 10:01 PM
It's not dying, cut those frawns off and watch it come back when the weather warms again. Looks like the newer growth didn't mature enough and got kissed by Mr. Frosty. It will come back!

Florida Gardener
01-21-2013, 10:15 PM
FYI-a sago is a cycad, not a palm. 2 questions, where are you located, and how cold has it gotten recently where you are?
Posted via Mobile Device

avernon0112
01-21-2013, 10:18 PM
No hail there. I guess it could be frost. It just started getting bad a few weeks ago. There was a few days around the end of the year that were cold.

Florida Gardener
01-21-2013, 10:23 PM
No hail there. I guess it could be frost. It just started getting bad a few weeks ago. There was a few days around the end of the year that were cold.

How cold?? Where exactly are you located??
Posted via Mobile Device

turfmd101
01-21-2013, 10:33 PM
Can anyone tell me what could be causing this. I am new to dealing with palms. I have spent a few hours reading about this and can not seem to get anywhere.

NUTRIENT DEFICIENCY; magnesium, manganese & potash at proper rates will improve these deficiencies. Rates are based on trunk diameter ( rate of product is by inch of diameter). Strip old growth and if proper nutrients are applied right. The new growth should not be deficient.
Posted via Mobile Device

avernon0112
01-21-2013, 10:36 PM