PDA

View Full Version : Pakasandra's

JimB
02-07-2003, 08:46 PM
i GOT A BIG JOB SET UP FOR EARLY SPRING, A CUSTOMER WANTS ME TO PLANT PAKASANDRA'S COVERING AN ENTIRE HILL OF GRASS ABOUT 40 FEET TOP TO BOTTOM AND ABOUT 60 FEET LEFT TO RIGHT, THIS IS MY FIRST TIME EVER PLANTING PAKASANDRA'S AND IM NOT SURE HOW TO GO ABOUT THIS, SUCH AS HOW FAR APART TO PLANT EM AND WHETHER OR NOT I SHOULD KILL THE GRASS FIRST OR JUST PLANT EM IN THE GRASS.
ANY PROFESSIONAL HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

...JIM:dizzy:

ipm
02-07-2003, 08:58 PM
Pachysandra /space 12-15" apart. Foliage groundcover for shade, common name -Japanese Spurge.

You will need about 2,400 plants at 12" spacing. I would purchase flats. 18 to a flat= 133 flats.

You might want to back fill plants with a compost.

kill the grass 1st.

1MajorTom
02-07-2003, 08:58 PM
First question:
What type of sunlight does this hillside receive?
Pachysandra thrive best in deep shade. Used for a ground cover in shady areas such as under trees where it is hard to grow grass.
Pachysandra will not do well in full sun.
They grow slowly, thru a network of underground runners.
Once established, pachysandra makes a thick dense bed.

Newly planted pachysandra should be planted in mulch. (not a heavy mulch.)

mdb landscaping
02-07-2003, 09:16 PM
jodis right. make sure there is a little amount of sunlight hitting the pacysandra, because otherwise it will eventually die.

baddboygeorge
02-08-2003, 12:16 AM
i plant mine at 6 inches apart , it gives it a full effect asap an looks good . when i plant ground cover i use a cordless drill an a bulb auger an it goes super quick . if you have grass kill out first !!

devildog
02-08-2003, 04:55 AM
Have you decided which variety to use? Claytonia for example, (virginica) is a very early beautiful little plant. But, although its flowers are lovely, however they are very small. On the other hand, Claytonia siberica has thicker, more deeply veined foliage and it flowers for months.