PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wants to rid bermuda of weeds/grass

atlantamoi
02-19-2003, 12:39 PM
I'm a newbie... new home, new sod (well, sodded in late November). I've got bermuda grass here in Atlanta. It's dormant right now, but I've got a ton of green grass sprouts all over. I started pulling them out by hand, but half of them came back (didn't get to the root I guess).

I went to Home Depot to buy a grass killer that wouldn't destroy the bermuda, but the guy there was as clueless as I am. Previously, I tried a weed killer that did nothing (because it's grass growing, not weeds... duh.) I'm unsure what product I should use to spray. I'm unsure if I should even do this. I've had the lawn for 3 months and have not done a thing to it... I will in the spring of course, but for now.... nothing. Parts of the lawn still looked like sodded squares.

Should I just leave the unwanted grass there for now and deal with it next fall... after I've mowed and watered all summer? Or would it be okay to try and kill this stuff off now before the bermuda turns green again?

Thanks... I know this might be a super newbie question, but I've got a lot to learn!

Slant7
02-21-2003, 08:51 PM
atlantamoi