PDA

View Full Version : Just starting

cutterj
02-26-2003, 11:38 PM
I have been doing the mowing side of the business for years now, and i am looking to venture into small landscape jobs. I have a lot of experience in pavers but not much with plants. What kinds of things do i need to know when going to bid on a job. Should i find something so i know what each plant is, and how to take care of it.

Do you imediately show them the things you can do on their property, or ask what they were thinking first. What im trying to say is do u try to sell them on more than they first wanted, once they see what u can really do.

Do u have to provide them with care book for all of the plants u install. What kind of gaurantee do you give.

Im thinking of getting the DIG software so i atleast look proffesional

What other advice can you offer me. Ive been searching and reading posts for ever. Just wanted to know some tips anyone has. Like anyone near me can hopefully help me with what the going rate is, dont want to undercut myself

Lombardi
02-28-2003, 12:04 AM
Cutterj,
You should really work with someone in the landscaping business for a while before you go on your own. Landscaping is much more detailed than mowing lawns. I do both. I get much more self satisfaction out of landscaping than mowing. I will try to answer your question in order.
1. Bidding jobs is not easy. There is more to a job than meets the eye, i.e: sod removal, burying drain pipe, soil prep, having utilities marked, topsoil, mulch, edging, drainage, etc.
2. Yes, you need to know what each plant is and where they can be planted according to each job site. Some customers will know a lot about plants, most will not.
3. I always ask what they have in mind and then expand from there. You don't want to be too pushy. They usually have a budget and want to see what the initial bid will be first.