PDA

View Full Version : Why did we all get in this business ?

BUSHMASTER
08-29-2000, 04:47 PM
I thought this would be an interesting topic,what did you do before you got in the lawn service industry,and why.this ought to be fun.

KirbysLawn
08-29-2000, 05:24 PM
I work as a EMT Paramedic in Charlotte, I have 6 years (God willing) until I retire. I started my business 4 years ago to prepair for my post-medic plans. I enjoy working outside, have never worked at a desk, have always been my own boss (even in EMS), so this is perfect! :D

Bobby
08-29-2000, 07:13 PM
Been mowing for twenty years.US Army before that.Got a few more years till my little girl goes to college. Gona buy a Freightliner and hit the road when that happens.

TGCummings
08-29-2000, 07:17 PM
This is what I've always done. :D

-TGC

RYAN
08-29-2000, 07:29 PM
I went to college for four years with a major in Criminal Justice and planned to look for a police job after college. I worked every summer running a mower for a local lawn and landscape companies and really liked the work, but the paycheck was another story. I always had thoughts of starting my own lawn care biz, since the work was enjoyable and the owners of both companies I worked for were making good money. After graduation I looked for some police officer jobs with little luck, then I took an office job which I hated. So oncethe spring of 1999 came around I decide I would give the lawn care biz a whirl. I was a definate scrub at first with my 21" Craftsman in the back of my Ranger, but I worked my a$$ off and have moved up the ladder pretty fast. Starting this business was the best thing I ever did, I love it

Ryan

SJR Lawncare
08-29-2000, 07:36 PM
I started out working for a lawncare/landscaping company 7 years ago as a summer job, worked there for 6 years, learned the ins & outs. & early this spring I quit my job & went on my own.(My old boss & I are still friends & help each other out.)
SJR

bucktail
08-29-2000, 07:46 PM