PDA

View Full Version : Expanding into mowing and need a little advice

rscritch
03-10-2003, 10:42 AM
Hi, im new to this site and so far every thing that i have read has been tremoundusly helpful. I got refered to this site from a fellow user of Fordtrucks.com which is another outstanding site. I have been doing landscape and handyman work full time for about 2 years, and this summer i am looking into expanding and doing some mowing. I all ready ahve an extra truck, and trailer and i am going to hire my yonger brother to mow for me. What i am needed some advice on is im located in central IL and im kinda just shooting in the dark when it comes to priceing, im haveing to baise every thing off of my own yard. My yard takes about 30-40 min to mow and about another 20-25 min to trip, i was planing on chargeing about 25-30 for a yard of my size and adjust the price to the size of the yard. I know you don't know alot of things but based on the amount of time that it takes to mow and my price do you think that i will be makeing enough money based on my price or am i too high thanks in advance ryan

iclgs
03-10-2003, 12:36 PM
We charge 1 min on most jobs. We will not stop fpr anything less than $25. It just isn't worth it!!

also are you sure you can afford to have someone else mow for you. I have been a LCO for 2 years and have 25-30 customers. I am no where near ready to employ someone? Just my 2cs

Goodluck
AZA

Hawkeye5
03-10-2003, 05:03 PM
Bid your jobs based on costs (direct, indirect, overhead) plus profit. How much are you going to pay per hour for labor? How much does it cost to operate the mower, truck and other equipment per hour? What is the cost of insurance, equipment replacement, taxes, business license, etc.?
How long does it take to mow, trim, edge & blow per 10,000 sq. ft (or what ever unit you wish to use)?
How many $ do you need to make per 10,000 sq. ft. (or hour) to cover all costs and produce your target profit?