PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With Sod

cturner
03-19-2003, 12:53 AM
I AM JUST STARTING OUT IN THE BIZ SOLO AND I HAVE DONE SOME SOD WORK BEFORE BUT NOTHING LIKE THIS, I HAVE A CUSTOMER THAT WANTS ME TO SOD HER YARD THATS ABOUT 7,500 SQ.FT IT'S A BRAND NEW HOME SO IT STILL HAS THAT ROCKY,CLAY, GROUND WITH ALL THE ROOTS AND JUNK IN IT. I HAVE ONLY DONE PATCH WORK WITH SOD IN THE PAST WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO DO THIS

ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED THANK YOU

cturner
03-19-2003, 01:49 AM
AND IT'S ALSO JUST ME AND MY PARTNER SO I DON'T HAVE MUCH MAN POWER, HOW LONG DO U THINK THIS JOB WOULD TAKE:confused:

timturf
03-19-2003, 10:35 AM
SOIL TEST, correct any soil chemistry problems, reduce compaction, and educate client on care!

When I sod, I get my supplier to lay sod, while I oversee for proper installation.

Son-in-law
03-19-2003, 10:45 PM
Your biggest problem will be preparing the ground. If you don't have a good tiller check out rental on a dingo & tiller around here they run about $120/day + $70/day for tiller. A small skid steer would be a little more. Your looking at 850 yds. so delivery might be best. Figure out how much detail you'll go into getting rid of the debris, and what will you do with it. Usually, I figure 2 guys can put down 100 yds in 1 hour if they don't have to cut alot. Also, need to educate client about care WATERING.

DaddyRabbit
03-19-2003, 11:56 PM