PDA

View Full Version : Degree? Architect/Designer/Construction?

LINKSCAPE
04-06-2003, 08:05 PM
Hello everyone. I've got a question for you guys regarding having a degree. At this point I've been doing lawn care and landscaping for 4 years but am considering attending Michigan State for either Landscape design/Construction or Landscape Architecture.....tough choice. For those who have degrees in either, could you let me know the benefits of having the degree versus not??? Did your reputation, clients and referrals grow faster than they otherwise would have and also were you able to apply what you learned directly to your business, or was it a lot of book work that was learned and forgotten? Also, as far as commercial work goes, how much more beneficial is the architectural degree than design degree in getting the work....and your knowledge? Also curious what kind of software you use. Thanks a lot! Any information anyone can give would be greatly appreciated!

mdvaden
04-07-2003, 12:51 AM
I took classes at Portland Community College which offers 2 associate degree choices - landscaping, and landscape design.

For someone that will do a business and be working in the field, its likely that the associate degree will produce a professional that is equally effective as someone with a bachelor degree.

Maybe more so with the associate degree - sometimes the colleges with the 2 year program have teachers that have higher in-the-field experience.

Do you want to be good at it? Or have the degree?

I went for the education to know what I was doing, and because I enjoyed it.

A 4 year degree includes a lot of non horticulture stuff. But that may be interesting to someone that enjoys those other classes.

If I were to go for a 4 year degree for the credential, it would seem rediculous to not make a push for the 5th year and get a landscape architecture degree. That's if I was to work for myself.

To get the architect license, you will need 7 years of experience.