PDA

View Full Version : Use/Don't Use Striping kits ??????

LawnGuy73
04-06-2003, 08:59 PM
Hey I got a ? Ive been mowing commerical properties now for a little over five years, this year I really want to stripe them all out, so my question is how many of you guys use striping kits? Also did you make them yourself or buy the factory ones? Some pics would be great, thanx guys..

rvsuper
04-06-2003, 10:05 PM
Here is the kit I made for my mower at home this winter. I used it twice so far this spring, and it stripes excellent!

Randy Scott
04-06-2003, 10:08 PM
I have the roller for my eXmark that's made by York sheetmetal. $300 plus

wriken
04-06-2003, 10:22 PM
I did'nt have a chouce, when I bought my Cub, its standard equipment, lucky for me.:p

tiedeman
04-06-2003, 10:25 PM
yup same with me..it comes standard with all of my mowers..of course except the 21's

FrankenScagMachines
04-06-2003, 10:36 PM
Yes/Flap/Homemade on a 52" Scag which already stripes good by itself (w/b). It does good (see pic).

IMHO A striping attachment is useless on a 21" because 21" stripes do not look good [to me] and they add alot of drag which either makes it harder to push or makes it harder on the transmission.

Scag stripes with flap:

FrankenScagMachines
04-06-2003, 10:37 PM
another

rvsuper
04-06-2003, 10:43 PM
Eric,
I see the trees are starting to green up in your area. How far down are you from the north end of Iowa?

Buckeye1
04-06-2003, 11:08 PM
I made mine similar to rvsuperís and others I have seen on LS. I made it so the chain bar will pivot up if it ever hits the ground (coming down off embankments, etc.)

It works OK but IMO, chain or flap stripe kits canít really compare to rollers for laying grass down.

LawnGuy73
04-06-2003, 11:12 PM
buckeye.. do you ever run over the chains when you go backwards????

rvsuper
04-06-2003, 11:17 PM
When I made mine, I measured the chain on the ends so the tires would not ride over them.

LawnGuy73
04-06-2003, 11:19 PM