PDA

View Full Version : Employee - owner - taxes - etc

onelegjohn
04-16-2003, 11:18 PM
Here is what I want to do.

I am a chemist but love to mow lawns. I love the equipment, the tools, and the garages...the money. I still do it on the side.

I am too busy with my real job to mow and landscape. Instead of buying a dump truck, skidloader, mowers, pressure washers (all the cool stuff) with my personal money from my full time job - it makes sense to me to start a business that could depreciate all the equipment I want.....and possibly make money.

Starting this business would hide the cost of all my toys.

If I were to hire my brother to mow and landscape I would have to pay matching tax. I would basically give him freedom to make as much as he wants as long as bills are paid.

Could I also draw my own salary from this?

Say the business grosses 100k
My brother gets a salary of 40k
operating expenses are 50k

What do I do with the 10k profit? If I am a corporation I could pay dividends right? What if I own all the stock...will I still get hit hard in taxes? I just want to find the best way to hide the 10k profit.

Turf Medic
04-16-2003, 11:40 PM
If you are incorporated, leave the profit in the business, you won't be liable for the taxes unless you take it out. The corp will have to pay taxes on the profit, but at a much smaller rate and you won't have the self employment tax that will run about 16%. Who knows after a few years the business may have enough capital to purchase some real estate. Talk to your CPA, to get the straight scoop, but I think you can also have the business provide you with a vehicle, tax free to you. You will need to be a full corporation C not S to take advantage of this, with a S corp the profit or loss carry through to the owner. You can also set up a Limited Liability Company and have the IRS treat it as a corporation and get the same benifits without some of the restrictions placed on you by the corporation.

John Allin